A day in LA

I don’t know if it’s because I live in the suburbs, a.k.a. middle of nowhere, but I always feel like I need to drive at least 20 minutes to have some kind of fun. Sure, it’s not about where you are, but who you’re with, but most days I’m alone and venturing out alone doesn’t exactly make me all giddy and excited to explore the mundaneness around me. It’s unfortunate. But then I wonder if it would be any different if I did live somewhere like, New York City, Seattle, or even Los Angeles. Wouldn’t it just become normal to me after a while and no longer thrill me? I hope not…

So, to relinquish this craving of exploring a big city and trying to be cool (Ha! What am I saying? I am cool, pft.), some friends and I spent a day out in Los Angeles. The day didn’t go quite as planned, however. We had a really late lunch that prevented us from going to the Getty Villa. So, we decided to visit the Museum of Contemporary Art, but it was closed that day and we didn’t find out until we got there. But! All hope was not lost. We got to go to the Santa Monica Pier* and hang around Little Tokyo. Here are some polaroids we took on the pier. Don’t mind the reflections on the film. My scanner broke ages ago and I never felt the need to buy another one so, I took photos of the polaroids, instead.

Hmm… I really need to whip out my DSLR from the depths of my closet and put it to good use! These films don’t do justice to our day trip to LA!


*On a side note: I adore the Santa Monica Pier. I don’t know why, but I do. And once, when I was bored at home, I had this sudden urge to go on the viking boat ride that’s there. So, I drove over an hour, paid for parking, and walked to the pier only to see that it was closed for the night!!! I was devastated and mentally kicked myself for not thinking to check the hours beforehand. Since then, I have not been able to go on this particular viking boat, but I will one day!

Leave a Reply

